
----------------------------------------------------
Instructions for the installation of HDF5 High Level
----------------------------------------------------

The HDF5 High Level library consist on a set of functions build on top of the
basic HDF5 library. These instructions assume you have the HDF5 library installed. 
You optionally will also need the zlib and szip libraries (for instructions
on how to get these, please see hdf.ncsa.uiuc.edu).

----------------------------------------------------
1. Unix platforms
----------------------------------------------------

    % gunzip < hdf5_hl-1.2.0.tar.gz | tar xf -
    % cd hdf5_hl-1.2.0
    % setenv CC /<my HDF5 installation path>/bin/h5cc
    % ./configure --prefix=/<my hdf5_hl install path>
    % make
    % make check
    % make install

See also "Specific Unix platform build hints" at the end of this document    

----------------------------------------------------
2. Windows platforms
----------------------------------------------------

You will need the Microsof Visual C++ compiler (MSVC) and WinZip.
These instructions assume you have the zlib and szip libraries installed on W:\zlib and W:\szip.

 a. extract the file hdf5_hl.tar.gz to a folder, for example

    W:\My_hdf5_hl

 b. extract the file hdf5_hl_proj.zip to the W:\hdf5_hl\windows directory;
    this file contains all the projects for building the library and tests on
    MSVC

 c. on the MSVC editor, open the file project hdf5_hl.dsw 

 d. go to Project->Settings->C/C++->Preprocessor->Additional include
    directories and type the location of your hdf5 and zlib header files, 
    for example

    W:\hdf5\src,W:\zlib,W:\szip

 e. go to Project->Settings->Link->Input and type the location of your hdf5
    and zlib library files, for example 

    W:\hdf5\proj\hdf5\debug,W:\zlib,W:\szip

    Note: the path for the hdf5 header and library files (steps d and e) can
    also be defined in the Tools->Options->Directories of the MSVC editor. In
    the previous example just add W:\hdf5\src to the header files section and
    W:\hdf5\proj\hdf5\debug to the library files section.

 f. Select the "all" project. This project builds the hdf5_hl library and
    tests

 g. To run the tests on a command line window, go to W:\hdf5_hl\windows and
    type:

        test debug

    or

        test release

    depending if you have build the debug or release version of the "all"
    project.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Specific Unix platform build hints
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

1) MACOSX

On MACOSX HDF5 and hdf5_hl must be build with static libraries. Use
--disable-shared --enable-static
as additional parameters of ./configure (both in HDF5 and hdf5_hl)

2)  AIX5.1
   On AIX 5.1 system use --disable-shared --enable-static flags with 
   configure.


----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Platfroms supported
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Check RELEASE.txt file in the release_docs directory of main HDF5 source code
distribution or http://hdf.ncsa.uiuc.edu/HDF5/release/SuppConfigFeats.html
for supported platfroms and compilers.    
