Help:Node Group View

Description

The Node Group View displays groups of nodes. This is a means of organizing your network and decluttering the display. You might group nodes by type of machine (e.g., Sun4500s), application (e.g., Oracle) or geography (e.g., West Coast Datacenter). By default the system creates the following groups: During network discovery nodes are assigned to these groups as a convenience. Nodes may belong to more than one group.

Selecting the checkbox on the left of each group will expand the group, displaying all nodes within the group.

Outages

If a group has at least one node with an outage it will be marked with this icon: .

[new]

Clicking on [new] will pop up a window that prompts you for the name of the group. Type the name then 'Enter'. A group will be created.

[open]

Clicking on [open] will pop up a new window with just the selected group. This allows you to expand the group, nodes, interfaces and services in a seperate window.

[edit]

Clicking on [edit] will pop up a window allowing you to edit 3 properties of the group: active/inactive, the name, and the nodes in the group. Once you have made your changes, click the 'submit' button to commit them or the 'cancel' button to cancel them.

Active

Selecting the Active checkbox will make the group and all nodes within the group active. Similarly, deselecting the checkbox will deactivate the group and all nodes within the group. Deactivated nodes,interfaces and services are not monitored and do not generate events or alerts.

Name

You can edit the name of the group by changing the text in the textbox.

Nodes

The 2 box selector allows you to move nodes that are not in the group (left side) into the group (right side).

[copy]

Clicking on [copy] button will cause a new group to be created with the same nodes and same name but with 'Copy of' prepended.

[delete]

Clicking on [delete] will delete the group. It does NOT delete the nodes in the group. Deleted groups are not active and are not displayed. If you want to see deleted groups, use the Show Deleted control to see deleted groups and to expose the undelete control.

[alerts]

Clicking on [alerts] will pop up a window with a 2 box select allowing you to assign user groups for events associated with the nodes in this group. Events for these nodes will generate alerts for users in the associated groups (typically email or pager alerts). These can be acknowledged in the 'Alerts' screen.

NOTE: this control simply does assignment. It begins with no user groups selected and those that get selected are applied to all nodes in the group replacing the current associations.

[new node]

Clicking on [new node] will pop up a window that prompts you for the node's name. Type a name followed by 'Enter' and a node will be created with the group.

Show Edit Controls and Show Deleted

If you have permission to update the data, then you will see displayed on the lower left hand part of the screen two check boxes. One checkbox is labeled Show Edit Controls, if this is checked you will see the various editing controls described in this help page. If this is not checked then the display will be decluttered by removing the edit controls. The Show Deleted check box, if checked will cause the display to show all deleted objects and an associated control to un delete. You may control these display options by clicking on the check box to toggle the checkmark.