Help:Node Discovery View
Description
The Node Discovery View allows you to see the current set of subnets
being monitored. You may add new subnets and interactively run network discovery.
The frequency of automated network discovery can be controlled.
Subnets
This frame displays the current subnets considered in network discovery.
Unchecking the checkbox next to each subnet will remove the
subnet from the discovery process. This can be useful if you have just
added a new subnet (see [new]) and you want to run discovery
just on that new network (you uncheck all other subnets).
[delete]
Delete this subnet, removing from the disovery process. Deleting
a subnet will remove it from the display, use the
Show Deleted control to see deleted subnets and to expose
the undelete control.
[new]
Create a new subnet to search when running network discovery. Input
either a subnet mask in CIDR notation or single IP.
Run Schedule
This displays the options for the automated running of network discovery.
Since this can cause considerable network traffic and may take many hours
if you have multiple subnets, each with hundreds of nodes, you should consider
scheduling network discovery carefully. There is the option to disable
the automated running of network discovery and only do manual network discovery.
[run now]
Run network discovery now on all active subnets.
Show Edit Controls and Show Deleted
If you have permission to update the data, then you will see displayed
on the lower left hand part of the screen two check boxes. One checkbox
is labeled Show Edit Controls, if this is checked you will see
the various editing controls described in this help page. If this is not
checked then the display will be decluttered by removing the edit controls.
The Show Deleted check box, if checked will cause the display to show
all deleted objects and an associated control to undelete.
You may control these display options by clicking on the check box to toggle
the checkmark.