Activating or Deactivating Redo Log
Management 
One possible log setting that you can make is activating or deactivating redo log management.

Deactivate redo log management only rarely and in special cases, and then only for a fixed period of time.
Redo log management is activated by default.
If you deactivate redo log management, and then reactivate it, you must then make a complete data backup.
When you deactivate redo log management, the Log Writer no longer writes any redo log entries to the log area. Disabling redo log management means that the log backup history is interrupted, so if a recovery is necessary, no log entries are available for this period. You should minimize this security risk, that is to say, you should keep the period in which there is no active redo log management as short as possible.
This setting is particularly useful, for example, when you are initializing a database instance, and the conditions are exceptionally critical for performance.
Use the Database Manager to activate or deactivate redo log management.